Find Us

123 Main Street
New York, NY 10001

Monday–Friday: 9:00AM–5:00PM
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00AM–3:00PM

Punjab poll 2022: CM Channi, Navjot Sidhu, Bajwa fielded in first list of 86 Congress candidates

Tribune News Service

Aditi Tandon

New Delhi, January 15

Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi, state unit president Navjot Singh Sidhu and Rajya Sabha MP Partap Singh Bajwa have been fielded in the first list of Congress candidates announced on Saturday for the February 14 Punjab elections.

Also read: With first list of Congress candidates for Punjab election expected by Friday, all eyes on youth candidates

Punjab Poll 2022 1st list: Bid to iron out differences in Congress party

The CM will defend his current segment Chamkaur Sahib and has been named only from one seat yet, amid talks that he could be asked to contest from Doaba also for larger electoral impact.

State unit chief Navjot Sidhu will contest from his current segment of Amritsar East and Bajwa will be the candidate from Qadian assembly constituency of Gurdaspur Lok Sabha segment.

Partap Bajwa’s brother Fateh Jung, the sitting MLA from Qadian, defected to the BJP after the Congress decided to field Partap Bajwa from Qadian.

Deputy Chief Minister Om Prakash Soni will contest from Amritsar Central, his current seat.

Among the candidates fielded today are Sandeep Jakhar, the nephew of Congress Punjab campaign chief Sunil Jakhar, from Abohar; Mohit Mohindra, the son of minister Brahm Mohindra from Patiala Rural, Malavika Sood, the sister of actor Sonu Sood from Moga and singer Sidhu Moosewala from Mansa.

The Congress has retained sitting MLA Gurpreet Singh GP from Bassi Pathana, which CM Channi was seeking for his younger brother Manohar Singh.

In the first list of 86 candidates the Congress has stuck to the one ticket one family rule.

Other ministers in the list are Bharat BHushan Ashu from Ludhiana west, Aruna Chaudhury from Dina Nagar reserved segment, Tript Rajinder Bajwa From Fatehgarh Churian, deputy CM Sukhjinder Randhawa from Dera Baba Nanak, Rana Gurjeet Singh from Kapurthala, Pargat Singh from Jalandhar Cant, Manpreet Badal from Bathinda, Sangat Singh Gilzian from Urmar, Gurkirat Kotli from Khanna, former minister Balbir Sidhu from SAS Nagar, Punjab Congress working chief Kuljit Nagra from Fatehgarh Saheb.

Punjab Youth Congress leader Amarpreet Lally is the party candidate from Garhshankar with the CM seeking the seat for Nimisha Mehta.

Below is the list:

#assemblyelections #Congress #NavjotSidhu #PunjabelectionswithTribune #Punjabpoll2022

Desk Team